Author Topic: Lightning rifle  (Read 1493 times)

Hoss Roonwright

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Lightning rifle
« on: February 27, 2016, 07:30:12 PM »
Shot my very first WBAS match today.  Been shooting CAS almost 4 years.  I had a good time. I prefer the revolvers, but I'm sure I'll shoot WB again. 

Question came up.  A shooter using a Lighning rifle came to line with action open.  (Lightnings have to be loaded with action open) shooter set it down, briefly (hands did come off gun, if that matters) before it was noticed.  He picked up, returned to loading table and corrected.  After some discussion, it was deemed a no-call.  Rule book says rifles staged with action closed, hammer on safety notch or fully down.  Does not give a penalty for action open.  I suspect a SDQ for not following loading procedure. What is correct call?

Happy Jack

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
  • Wild Bunch Committee Chairman
Re: Lightning rifle
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2016, 12:35:00 PM »
If the hammer was not fully down or on the safety notch it is a SDQ.
1911's RULE !!!

lostvaquero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
Re: Lightning rifle
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2016, 10:16:41 AM »
I shoot lightnings in regular CAS.  You load with the action open, but you can close it without chambering a round.  Coming to the line with the action open I agree with Happy Jack, should have been a SDQ