Sarah Harp, aka Sage Chick

SASS #48454


Q: Where are you from?

A: I am from Sunbury, Ohio, which is located in central Ohio about 40 miles north of Columbus. 

Q: Tell us about your home club.

A: I shoot regularly at three clubs in Ohio: Ohio Valley Vigilantes, Tusco Long Riders, and Firelands Peacemakers. They each shoot on a different Saturday of the month, and they are all fantastic ranges to shoot at with some of the best people in the sport!

Q: Tell us about you, where were you born, where did you grow up, when/how did you start shooting and with whom.

A: I was born and have grown up right here on our family farm in central Ohio. I believe I was five years old when my dad let me shoot my first gun, a bearcat .22. My neighbor (Gray Hare) got my dad (Rowdy Bishop) and brother (Kilbourne Kid) interested in Cowboy Action when I was seven years old. I followed them around for about a year picking up brass, before I shot my first local match at age eight. It became a full family hobby shortly after, with my mom (Fowl Lady) joining in as well. After a few years, my brother became more interested in the sport at a competitive level, and, with my competitive spirit and big brother to try and beat, I followed right along. 

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your practice and training regimen.

A: My practice and training have varied over the years, due to limited time and competing interests. I shoot primarily May-September, due to weather (but mostly because of schoolwork). During that time, our family shoots a local match about three Saturdays a month. If a "big" shoot is coming up, I will practice a couple times throughout the week, mostly dry-firing to work on technical details, such as getting those uncooperative shotgun shells to go where they are supposed to! 

Q: Please tell us about your preferred match/competition firearms, including pistols, rifle, and shotgun. Also mention any modifications (ie: short stroke kits, etc.) that may have been performed on your competition guns.

A: I currently shoot an Uberti .38cal, 1873 Winchester rifle, which has action work and a short stroke. My shotgun is an 1897. I have shot my trusty .38cal Ruger Blackhawks since I started shooting at age 8 but am currently in the process of retiring them for a pair of new model Ruger Vaqueros. I have also used Kirkpatrick Leather since I met Just Wild Bill at my first state match 12 years ago. My gun work has been done by many helpful and talented people including Joe at Pioneer, Long Hunter, Coyote Cap, Jimmy Spurs, Lassiter, and, of course, my dad. 

Q: Please tell us about your preferred match ammunition.

A: My match ammunition is hand-loaded by my dad on a Dillon 650. With an entire family shooting, he has spent innumerable hours cranking on that handle.  

Q: Please tell us about any other associations you belong to.

A: In addition to SASS, I am a life member of the NRA. I was also an active 4-H member for 10 years where I used Cowboy Action as my shooting sports project. Additionally, I showed beef, cattle and sheep at our county fair, and I took on other small projects as well. I now serve as an advisor in the 4-H shooting sports club.  

Q: Please list your shooting accomplishments/titles in addition to the World Championship Title.

A: Ohio State Women's Overall 2006, 2009, 2010, 2013 Guns of August Regional Women's Overall 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 Winter Range National Women's Overall 2008 End of Trail World (Buckaroo Girl)-2005, 2006, 2007; (Junior Girl)- 2008, 2009, 2010; (Cowgirl)-2013 End of Trail World Women's Overall 2010, 2013  

Q: Please tell us about any other interests you may have.

A: I have many other interests, although shooting of any type is a main one. I also enjoy running, riding off-road motorcycles, mountain biking, reading, and doing work around our farm. I played four sports in high school: volleyball, basketball, softball, and track. Last year, I helped coach the Junior High Girls' Basketball team and that is something I hope to continue in the future. I currently attend The Ohio State University (Go Bucks!) where I am majoring in Animal Science. After graduating with my undergraduate degree, I plan to attend veterinary school to become a food animal veterinarian. 

Q: Please tell us what you love about SASS/Cowboy Action Shooting. 

A: Having grown up surrounded by the SASS community, it has truly become a big family to me. The wonderful people are by far my favorite part of this game. I have built so many great friendships through this sport all across the country and around the world. Each time I go shooting I look forward to seeing familiar faces and also meeting new friends. I love that this sport has something for everyone yet brings us all together to enjoy it with one another. Obviously, I particularly enjoy the competitive aspect of the game. Sure, I understand that's not for everyone, but I have a competitive spirit and I love to compete, even if it's just against myself. I also enjoy dressing "cowgirl", although I do not go over and above in this aspect of the sport. I believe it is an important part of the game, but even when I was little I was never one of the little girls playing dress up. I was the little girl who shot guns. I love going to the range to shoot, and I enjoy playing this game with people who all enjoy it for a different reason. If someone wants tips on how to improve their shooting, I'm more than happy to help them out. But I understand that not everyone plays this game to try and lower their times every stage, and I'm not going to force them to play the game differently. As long as they are playing within the rules of the game and having fun doing it, I'm more than happy to join them and do the same. I look forward to seeing each and every one of you on the range! 



ShootingMountedConventioneerEntertainmentSchedule of EventsAwardsResultsVendorLodging