The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

Wild Bunch Boards => Wild Bunch Rules Forum => Topic started by: Hoss Roonwright on February 27, 2016, 07:30:12 PM

Title: Lightning rifle
Post by: Hoss Roonwright on February 27, 2016, 07:30:12 PM
Shot my very first WBAS match today.  Been shooting CAS almost 4 years.  I had a good time. I prefer the revolvers, but I'm sure I'll shoot WB again. 

Question came up.  A shooter using a Lighning rifle came to line with action open.  (Lightnings have to be loaded with action open) shooter set it down, briefly (hands did come off gun, if that matters) before it was noticed.  He picked up, returned to loading table and corrected.  After some discussion, it was deemed a no-call.  Rule book says rifles staged with action closed, hammer on safety notch or fully down.  Does not give a penalty for action open.  I suspect a SDQ for not following loading procedure. What is correct call?
Title: Re: Lightning rifle
Post by: Happy Jack on February 29, 2016, 12:35:00 PM
If the hammer was not fully down or on the safety notch it is a SDQ.
Title: Re: Lightning rifle
Post by: lostvaquero on March 24, 2016, 10:16:41 AM
I shoot lightnings in regular CAS.  You load with the action open, but you can close it without chambering a round.  Coming to the line with the action open I agree with Happy Jack, should have been a SDQ