The SASS Wild Bunch Forum

Wild Bunch Boards => Wild Bunch Rules Forum => Topic started by: Jorge on January 17, 2018, 08:22:06 PM

Title: Breaking the 170
Post by: Jorge on January 17, 2018, 08:22:06 PM
Is there a difference in penalties when a shooter breaks the 170 with a loaded firearm, a chambered round firearm, or an empty, action opened firearm?
Title: Re: Breaking the 170
Post by: Garrison Joe on January 18, 2018, 08:49:31 AM
Nope, penalty is the same regardless of the status (loaded, loaded and chambered, OR unloaded) of the firearm.  If at the firing line and you break the 170 degree boundary, you have earned a SDQ penalty.

See bottom of page 20 of the shooter's handbook where the SDQ penalty section is.

Good luck, GJ
Title: Re: Breaking the 170
Post by: Jorge on January 18, 2018, 12:15:52 PM
So noted.  Will advise all who need to know.
Thanks.
Title: Re: Breaking the 170
Post by: Garrison Joe on January 18, 2018, 02:43:31 PM
Now, if other folks are being swept by that muzzle, it's a SDQ, or an MDQ if the gun was loaded.   So, make sure you understand why a call is being made!